Uncategorized

Note to self: Be present 

It’s been a week since we got home, a looooooooong week. I’m much more used to being home and the idea of working. But, I still have no clue what I’m going to do. Stay in Yakima or move? Get a long term or temporary job? Go to visit Ram in two months or him visit me; we don’t want to be separated for more than two months at a time again, three+ months is too long. 

We submitted our petition for a spouse visa! The first step to getting Ram here permanently. It’s exciting but we need patience. The whole process of acquiring a green card commonly takes 6-9 months, we’re hoping for six. Ram still has to leave in a week when his tourist visa is up. He can come visit during the process but immigration may not let him in, in speculation that he may stay illegally. 

My brother Aaron came to visit. He left us his dog Gemini to watch, for fun. We LOVE Gemini and she’s a great distraction. She’s so full of life and enthusiasm! Everything she does is ADORABLE! Having her with us adds much more life and light to our days. She’s a reason to get out of the house. I know Ram’s enjoyed her a lot. He takes her to play ball a couple times a day. 

It’s hard to get out of bed knowing Ram’s about to leave. I’m going to be heart broken when he walks away this Sunday. I feel like disappearing, BUT I snap myself out of it because I savor our time together and want to make the most of it. I want to remember ever detail of him and I can’t do that if I’m not present. 

I hope that knowing our next separation will be the last, will make it easier to bear. Right now, I don’t know how I’ll bear it, even for a week. Day by day I guess. 

Leave a Reply

