Uncategorized

A story about Hummus 

I was basically winging it with the hummus making. Ram told me very vaguely how to make it, like I should instinctually know. But, I got the general idea and how hard could it be it’s just puréed beans and tahini, right?

Per Rams “directions” I put a cup of garbanzo bean in water and let them soak for about 24 hours, changing the water several times. After only an hour they had already doubled in size so I thought “hey this is looking good!” The next morning I put the beans in a pot of water, brought it to a boil then lowered it to simmer. I set a timer to two hours. When the time was up the bean were still hard. I let them cook another hour and they were still hard! I let them cook another two hours and they were still hard! I let them simmer all day! They cooked for over seven hours and still weren’t soft. I could eat one, but I figured they needed to be mush. By this time I just wanted to go to bed so I cooled them, rinsed them, skinned them and put them in the fridge. 

Soaking

Cooking

Nasty scum coming up that I scrapped off

In the morning Ram translated a hummus recipe for me. Every recipe I found used canned bean which is an unbearable thought to him. In his recipe it says to put baking soda in the water when cooking because it gets them soft MUCH faster! Hallelujah! 

After work, I threw the beans, baking soda and some garlic cloves into a pot of water. I let them cook for one hour and the beans were mush! It worked! I then puréed the beans with raw tahini, lemon juice, and salt and tada! 

Hummus! 

Leave a Reply

