Uncategorized

Thankful for? 

Only twelve days until I leave for Israel!

This was my last week at work. I’ll spend the next two weeks getting ready to leave. It’s always nerve wracking trying to get ready for long trips. I don’t want to forget anything. I also have to make sure I bring all I need for our next visa step… AHH!

It’s almost Thanksgiving! So, in the spirit of thankfulness (I’m warning you right now) I’m going to gush about my husband Ram; the best partner I could ever have!

“When you meet the right person, you’ll know.”

Ram knew long before I did, or admitted it long before I could. He would tell me as we hiked on the PCT that we’re meant to be together. He would say “on our wedding day I’ll tell you I told you so” and he did…

During that same hike, we took a few days off to stay at my parents house. Every morning Ram would knock lightly on my bedroom door before coming in. He’d sit on the edge of my bed and rub my back with “good morning, I made you coffee”. His sweet smile and soft touch made me feel safe and calm. His energy grounded me. I thought it would be awkward for us at my parents house. I was nervous that in the real world we wouldn’t mix. He’s from a completely different world than I. But I was wrong. It felt natural. Having him in my life is natural. Which may be why it feels so wrong to be apart. It’s hard; really hard not to go crazy with longing. It’s only two weeks away which makes me more crazy.

When I showed up in Israel for the first time Ram and I were almost strangers. We had been together for a couple months, then separated for three. At the Tel Aviv airport he met me with a big smile, a quick hug and a bouquet of flowers. He was so sweet, but I was terrified. I was in shock and sick with fear. Did I just make a HORRIBLE mistake? I’m going to be here for three months! What if my feelings for him were all an illusion?

It was an hour and a half drive to the apartment. I was overwhelmed by the new environment and by Ram. We carried my luggage to the apartment, through the kitchen and up a little stairs that lead to the living room. We dropped everything and faced each other. He looked into my eyes and we hugged. A real hug for the first time in three months. I took a deep breath and melted. In that moment, all my fears and anxiety melted away. Suddenly I was home. He’s my home. I need his hugs. His hugs have healing powers.

Ram is authentic, unique, alive, free, honest and loving. He’s the best choice I made.

I couldn’t be more proud to be his wife and I couldn’t be more thankful to have his companionship for life.

I’m so thankful for Ram.

Happy Thanksgiving! What are you thankful for? 

Here’s a little a cappella of one of my favorite love songs by Sade. 

Leave a Reply

